I asked 50 Redskins fans to name their current favorite Redskin. So which player got the most votes?

A few days ago, I was doing something. Then, I started to not care about what I was doing, and elected to think about the Redskins instead (this happens all the time, by the way). And in doing so, I came up with this intriguing question: Who is THE Redskin player fans like the most on the current roster?

Think about it: All NFL organizations have a face of the franchise. Most often, the ‘it’ guy is the team’s starting quarterback, but he can also be a perennial Pro-Bowler at another position or someone who’s been on the team forever.

However, with Robert Griffin III struggling the past two years, and burgundy and gold legends Santana Moss and London Fletcher recently being let go after recording lengthy careers in Washington, it would seem there’s no surefire name that the majority of Redskins fans would point to and say, “That dude is my favorite Skin.” Therefore, I decided to conduct a vote to try and see if I could get a consensus choice from DC fans about the team’s most popular player. It was a close race.

After asking my Twitter followers to identify the single player they like the most on the current roster through a slew of tweets like this one (and after receiving 50 responses…thanks, Redskins fans, you guys are always willing to voice your opinion), I am pleased to announce that the Redskin who is most popular amongst the franchise’s supporters is:

This is a 2012 photo of Nick Sundberg #57 of the Washington Redskins football team. This image reflects the Washington Redskins active roster as of June 11, 2012 when this image was taken. (AP Photo)

(AP Photo)

NICK SUNDBERG!!!!!!!!!!!

Just kidding. It’s this stud:

This is a 2013 photo of Ryan Kerrigan of the Washington Redskins NFL football team. This image reflects the Washington Redskins active roster as of Monday, June 10, 2013 when this image was taken. (AP Photo)

(AP Photo)

Yep, Ryan Kerrigan, the talented pass rusher who’s also the only reason fans have had to go through the awful process of watching the team play defense the past couple of years garnered 16 out of the 50 votes I tallied to take home first place. Here are the full results from my research:

graph

And here are many of the fan tweets I received, in which they explain why they chose the player they chose:

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 7.46.56 PM

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 7.47.21 PM

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 7.47.36 PM

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 7.47.48 PM

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 7.49.11 PM

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 7.49.36 PM

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 7.49.48 PM

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 7.52.17 PM

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 7.51.45 PM

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 9.27.52 PM

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 9.28.45 PM

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 9.28.53 PM

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 9.28.21 PM

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 9.28.08 PM

A few personal reactions I had after seeing the results:

1) I was surprised to see Trent get so much love, but was also very happy about it. Lineman get overlooked all the time, so it’s nice to see that the Redskins fans I heard from are aware of and appreciate all that Trent does.

2) If you did this poll after the 2012 season, RGIII would’ve had at least 45/50 votes, if not all 50. Just another indicator of how far he’s fallen.

3) I was expecting to get at least five votes for Scot McCloughan. Shocked more fans didn’t name the GM as their favorite player after the offseason he’s had.

As far as my choice, after much thought, I think I’m going to have to go with DeSean Jackson. Yes, I know, he’s only been here one year, and I’m mad at myself for saying a guy who’s only been with the Skins for one year is my favorite player on the team. But that’s how much I loved what he did last season!

A huge reason why this question entered my mind in the first place is because of the news that circulated a few weeks ago indicating the Redskins told Santana Moss wouldn’t be brought back for the 2015 campaign. He was my favorite player over the last 10 seasons for Washington, and he will always be my favorite football player, but I needed to find a new current favorite, and I’m officially deciding to proclaim DeSean as that guy. He’s so explosive, he’s such a game breaker, and his speed and his obnoxiousness are two qualities that few people in the league today can match. He did at least one thing each week that made me text someone and say some variation of, “DESEAN JACKSON IS RIDICULOUS AHHHHHH ;ALDKFJ;EAIJT;ASDKF WHOAAAAAA.”

Thanks to all the Redskins fans who participated in the survey, and congratulations to Ryan Kerrigan. He’s definitely in my top 3, and I have absolutely no problem with him winning this poll; he’s incredibly consistent, very durable, and deserves all the credit he can get (and definitely doesn’t get enough).


What’d you think of the results? Let me know on Twitter @BarelyIn. You should also like the blog’s Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/barelyinbounds), because it will make me really happy, but more importantly, because I can relate to the struggles that you’re going through, DC sports fan

Leave a comment